pasta primavera

What’s on the menu tonight?

Pasta Primavera.

I was poking around online and found “Penne Premavera” from a favorite site of mine, Poor Girl Eats Well.  I took my own approach to this recipe but stuck to the meat of it.

1 pound whole wheat penne, cooked
~ 1 cup broccoli
~ 1 cup cauliflower
2 carrots, peeled and sliced
half a package of mushrooms
half an onion, chopped
a healthy tablespoon of minced garlic
1 tomato, diced
2 tablespoons butter
~1/3 cup white wine (and about 2/3 in my glass)
1 table spoon skim milk
salt, pepper, *seasonings
“shakey cheese” for garnish

*i have the Le Gourmet Chef Rosa Maria seasoning for oil dipping that I use in almost anything when I season.  I used about a generous tablespoon in this dish.  It’s amazing.

So I threw the butter into a pan on medium until melted.  I added the garlic, onions and carrots until the onions started to soften.  I then added the broccoli and cauliflower until they were soft.  I then added themushrooms, tomato, wine, milk and seasonings until everything was warm.  I then tossed in the penne and mixed it around to soak up the wine and let it simmer for about 10 minutes on low.  Season to your own liking if needed and top with “shakey cheese”.

It turned out pretty good.   I clearly made too much, but that’s what lunch the next day is for 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

