sweet potato quesadilla

The past few days I’ve been ordering food.  Well, we ordered pizza & wings on Wednesday which was then my lunch and dinner on Thursday and lunch on Friday.  I ordered out with my friend Friday night and then we had a huge snow storm!!!!  After braving the roads I made it home in the afternoon.  Today I’m definitely staying in.   So for lunch i had sweet potato quesadillas.  While I’m not a fan of Rachel Ray (and many people say I look like her) I do like her magazine.  I got this recipe from it.


1/2 sweet potato, mashed
1/3 cup black beans
1/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded chicken (I didn’t use it today – the quesadilla is tasty with or with out the chicken)
2 flour tortillas (i use the high fiber tortillas)

Microwave the sweet potato and cut length wise.  Scoop out the inside into a bowl and mash.  Smear half of the smashed potato onto a tortilla.  Add the black beans on top of the sweet potato and mash lightly.  Add the cheese and put the other tortilla on top.

Heat a non-stick pan (preferably bigger than your tortilla) to medium heat.  Place the quesadilla on the pan and warm until it gets crispy; flip and repeat on the other side.

Cut with a serrated knife into quarters and enjoy!

I do not dip this quesadilla in anything but you can dip it in whatever you’d like.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, lunch

Leave a Reply

