chili time!

sweater weather is upon us.  which also means boot weather.  and “chili” weather!  nothing warms the body and soul on a cool fall day like a bowl of chili.  i never really made chili, with the exception of my trusty chili cheese mac which is amazing, but i’m going to go at it this fall with more gusto.  what i like about chili is you can add a little bit of this, a little bit of that, a handful of these things, etc. and come out with something yummy.

since i still have my sister’s crock pot (sorry, jes!) and it’s gettin chilly out, i’ve decided to toss a few things into it.

here is the list of things i tossed into the crock pot – most of the things i had in the pantry:

  • ground chuck
  • cubed chuck roast
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 can roasted tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can bush’s chilli beans
  • 1/2 bottle of pumpkin beer (the other half i enjoyed while preparing this)
  • a sprinkle of chili seasoning
  • a sprinkle of cumin
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon

i prepared all of this the night before and stuck it in the fridge.  the morning of i pulled it out of the fridge when i woke up and turned it on low, hoping a delicious aroma would greet me when i came home from work.

i was WORRIED that the crock pot was going to burn down my apartment building.  silly, right?  i know.  my coworkers can attest to this.  my grandfather always told us to NEVER, EVER under any circumstance leave anything plugged in while we were gone.  but i did it anyway – sorry, pap.  i spent the entire day thinking about the chili and either if i’d come home to an apartment smelling wonderfully yummy or an apartment that’s burnt to the ground.

when i came home, to a standing building, the apartment smelled… good.  the chili looked delicious when i took the steamy lid off the crock pot.  while i wasn’t 100% disappointed, i wasn’t 100% satisfied with my first attempt at chili.  chili isn’t that hard to make but i clearly missed “something” to put in here.  this won’t stop me from making chili again.  i still ate it – i mean, it was good – hot sauce perked it up along with the sour cream and green onions.  but this only puts me in the mood to refine my chili and find that “something” i’m missing.  the first thing i did wrong was not browning the ground meat.  you think i’d know that, right?  well it didn’t dawn upon me to do so.

it looks good, right?  yes.  that is also some spoon corn bread on the side, which is really yummy.  the consistency of my chili ended up being on the dry side but that’s ok.  will i call it a fail? no.  i’ll call it a learning experience.  i will be trying this again with a different approach… to be continued!!!

2 Comments

Filed under dinner

2 responses to “chili time!

  1. Hahaha. I laugh because I was just singing “Hammer Time” in the cafeteria, and then mere (MERE!) moments later I was telling a co-worker how someone in the building looks exactly like you. And a few moments after, you send this out (Stop! Chili time. My-my-my chili hits you. So hard. Makes me so “Oh my Lord”).

    Needless to say, Chap was amused.

Leave a Reply

