squash soup

wow!  It’s been two weeks since I posted!  Things have been pretty busy for me lately.  I just completed my first 10-mile race.  I haven’t and will not abandon FwE but I started a secondary blog, documenting my journey to my first half marathon.  You can check it out here.

At any rate, the weather is starting to turn finally in my neck of the woods, but it’s still soup weather in my eyes.  I got a couple squash (or squishes as I’ve been saying) in past CSAs and I had no idea what to do with them.  I’ve never worked with squash before.  After picking a few brains, I decided to try my hand at squash soup.

I have no exact measurements for this recipe since I just threw things in as I went along.  Ah, the joys of cooking!

You’ll need:

  • squash
  • olive oil
  • chicken stock
  • salt
  • pepper
  • nutmeg

I first cut the squash in half – make sure you have a really sharp knife and a strong arm.  Depending on the size of the squash, this could use some elbow grease.  Discard the seeds and stringy-ness from the squash.  Rub the olive oil onto the inside of the squash and then lay face down on to a baking sheet.  I had the oven on at about 350 and baked my squash until tender, about 25-30 minutes depending on the size of the squash.

Once the squash is cool enough to handle, spoon the squash meat into a blender.   Add about a cup of chicken stock and turn the blender on.  Blend until smooth.  Add more or less chicken stock to achieve your preferred soup consistency.   Add the salt, pepper, nutmeg and any other spice you would like.

Not sure why I put cheese on top but it seemed like a good idea… and it tasted good to me!  Yum!

2 Comments

Filed under dinner

2 responses to “squash soup

  1. This is very nice, love squash, even the kids love it, so always on the menu.

  2. looks easy and delish!

Leave a Reply

