Indian Potatoes, Peas and Cauliflower

I.  Love. Indian. Food.  It’s so tasty and spicy and I cannot get enough.  I started to try my hand at actually making it because buying it starts to add up.  I started off with something fairly simple and it turned out well.

If you want to try an Indian dish, you’ll need:

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 pound russet potatoes, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch pieces, cooked
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 4 cups cauliflower florets, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add potatoes and ginger; sauté until potatoes are lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Mix in cauliflower, then salt, turmeric, chili powder and paprika; sauté 5 minutes. Add 1/2 cup water; cover and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes. Add peas and simmer 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

I bought basmati rice to serve with this dish and I am now a huge fan of basmati rice.  So much better than the regular stuff we all eat.  This dish made a TON so I had quite a bit left for a few days.  I am also a huge fan of Sriracha sauce, which topped the dish off.  Mmmmmm!
Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

