Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Yep.  ICE CREAM.

I’ve moved on to summer treats before summer officially got here.

I bought one of these puppies:

Amazon.com had them for $63 with free shipping.  That was the cheapest I found and it is worth every penny.

And then I bought this:

Oh yes.  Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Dessert Book.  You do not need any other book for ice cream.  Just this.  I swear.

I made the Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream on a whim while I had a day off and was growing restless (aka, I was in a car accent! all is fine but I did put my face on the bowl to help with swelling).  I saw this recipe when I flipped through the first time and realized I HAD everything for the recipe.  I looked no further in the book.

They have a recipe for a sweet cream base – what they begin with for most of the ice creams:

(They actually have three – this is the one I used)

  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy or whipping cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 over ripe bananas
  • juice of 1 lemon

Whisk eggs until light and fluffy, one or two minutes.  Whisk in the sugar slowly, add the cream and milk.  whisk until blended.

Pour about a cup of the base in a separate bowl and mix in the peanut butter.  Return the to the remaining cream base until completely combined.  Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze following the instructions of your maker.

Mash the bananas in a bowl with the lemon juice.  Add the banana mixture to the ice cream when frozen with about two minutes left in the machine.

ENJOY!

 

This was a SIMPLE ice cream making experience.  Perhaps too simple… I think Ben & Jerry’s really dumbed it down but I’m not complaining.  It works 🙂  Oh, and the ice cream was YUMMY!!!!!!  If you have a mixer I highly recommend getting the ice cream maker.  It’s a lot of fun.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under sweet treat

Leave a Reply

