Shrimp, Squid, Scallop and Sausage Paella!

I’m finally using one of my new Ina Garten cookbook.  I found a recipe that I’ve been wanting to make.  Paella!  I had a bag of frozen squid, shrimp and scallops in my freezer for this very recipe.  As soon as I saw the recipe I knew EXACTLY what I was going to make.  I had almost everything except the saffron.  If you have a Trader Joe’s near you – don’t groan!  Their saffron is $5.99!!!!!!!  It’s .020 oz, may not seem like much, but that is MORE than enough for this recipe.  I was psyched to not only make paella but to finally use saffron.  Little things in life excite me!

you’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped yellow onion (~2 onions)
  • 2 red bell peppers, cored and sliced into 1/2-inch strips
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic (4 to 6 cloves)
  • 2 cups white basmati rice
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 teaspoon saffron threads, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds cooked lobster meat (that’s what Ina called for – I went with my seafood trio, or whatever seafood you prefer)
  • 1 pound sausage, sliced
  • 1 (10-ounce) package frozen peas
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 2 lemons, cut into wedges

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Heat the oil in a large ovenproof dutch oven. Add the onions and cook over medium-low heat for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the bell peppers and cook over medium heat for 5 more minutes. Lower the heat, add the garlic, and cook for 1 minute longer. Stir in the rice, chicken stock, saffron, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper and bring to a boil. Cover the pot and place it in the oven. After 15 minutes, stir the rice gently with a wooden spoon, and return it to the oven to bake uncovered for 10 to 15 more minutes, until the rice is fully cooked.  Remove from oven.

Add the sausage, seafood and peas and stir gently. Cover the paella, and allow it to steam for 10 minutes. Sprinkle with the parsley, garnish with lemon wedges, and serve hot.

Man, it was goooooooooooooooooood.  And there was a toooooooon left over.  Win-win.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

