Pohanje AKA Slovenian Bowties

It has probably been a solid 10 years since I’ve had this delicious desert.  Pohanje (poh-honey), or just bowties, are like a long lost relative, only showing up at Christmas, Easter, and maybe a wedding.  I have made them with Grandma before but I have now taken on making them without Gram’s supervision.

Dump all of your ingredients into your mixer.  Or, make a bowl in a pile of flour.

Hooray for me, this was the first time EVER using a dough hook on my mixer!  I never thought I’d see this day.

Dump your crumbly dough out and knead.  And knead, and knead, and knead some more. Yeah, you see that recipe?! Old school.  You know this is straight from the motherland!

Roll out the dough until it’s REALLY REALLY THIN.  Cut into rectangles and make a slit in the middle.  You’ll see why.

take one end of the dough and pull it through the slit you just made.  boom.  bowtie!

Drop the dough in oil and fry ’em up until lightly golden brown.  Literally takes no longer than a minute.

Dust with powdered sugar and scarf them down.

While the recipe is SUPER simple, it takes HOURS to make.  The recipe Gram gave me yields about eight dozen.  EIGHT.  Five hours later, I was just about finished and whooped.  And it was totally worth it.  They weren’t perfect – it was my first time making these solo – but they turned out the way I remembered.  I think Gram thoroughly enjoyed them but she did let me know that I didn’t roll out my dough thin enough.  I realized this about 3 hours in, but, it’s the only way you learn! I will definitely be making these again.

“… but Emily! Where’s the recipe?!”

I know… I know.  What’s the point of a food blog with no recipe to go with a post?  All cooks keep a few secrets, and this one happens to be mine.  You can google bowtie cookies, pohanje, or kruschiki (the Polish way) and find very similar recipes and same instructions.  I am now the holder of this recipe, and it is strictly family business.

3 Comments

Filed under dessert

3 responses to “Pohanje AKA Slovenian Bowties

  1. Debra

    You go Emily! These look delicious and I’d keep your recipe secret. It might be what you make your millions on – you never know.

  2. Great photos! You can also find this listed under “flancati,” the other Slovenian name, perhaps even more common. Many recipes on the web. My family called them Angel Wings. Used to have them when we visited my Slovenian American grandma’s little bungalow in Cleveland. Getting ready to make a baked version I found in a Slovenian American cookbook. I will post the results, including a recipe, soon!

  3. Catherine Novak

    Recipe, please?

Leave a Reply

