Strawberry Sorbet!

IT’S HOT IN PITTSBURGH, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN!

Let’s make some sorbet, shall we?  I mean, I’ve left the ice cream maker in my freezer since the last time I used it … like, last summer.

Well hello, friend.  We meet again.  This thing takes up SO much space, requires a million hours to freeze before use (ok maybe 15) but it’s totally worth it to keep in the freezer at all times because when the mood strikes me to make sorbet or ice cream, I am not going to wait 15 hours.

Strawberry Sorbet

  • about a half pound fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • juice of one lemon
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 corn syrup
  • 2 cups cold water

Combine strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice. Cover and chill for an hour.


Keep pouring…!!

Once you’re ready to freeze the sorbet, mash the strawberries until pureed.  Add corn syrup and water and stir until blended.


Transfer the mixture to the ice cream maker and freeze following the directions.


Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert

Leave a comment