Curried Rice with Pineapple and Chicken

I’m trying to incorporate more brown rice into my life.  When I picked up a box of minute brown rice, I noticed some of the recipes on the back of the box.  Normally I don’t bother reading them but the word curry caught my eye, and boy do I love me some curry.  I’m not afraid to admit that I made a recipe from the back of a box.  And it was delicious.  I added chicken at the end to make this side dish a main dish.

You’ll need:

  • 1 can (8 oz.) pineapple chunks
  • 2/3 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsps curry powder
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup brown rice, uncooked

Drain pineapple chunks, reserving juice. Add chicken broth (about 2/3 cup) to equal 1 cup liquid. Set aside.

Heat oil in medium pan over medium heat. Sauté curry powder and garlic 1 to 2 minutes or until garlic is lightly browned.

Add reserved pineapple juice mixture, pineapple chunks, and brown sugar; bring to boil. Stir in rice. Reduce heat to medium. Cover and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand 5 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Fluff with fork.

Looks delish, doesn’t it?! It was.

And with all things curry (and really anything else I eat), I topped it off with some Sriracha Sauce. Mmmm.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

