Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream

I have acquired a coveted item.  My grandma’s Kitchenaid Mixer.  So yes, now I have two.  More bowls, more mixing power… what’s wrong with more?


Isn’t she a beaut?!  Anyway.  To show gram that I’m putting her to good use, I made ice cream with it.  Old school appliance and new school ice cream maker.  Boom.

I used the Ben & Jerry’s vanilla ice cream recipe and dumped in some cherries at the end.  Simple and yummy. Before I got started, I had the awful task of pitting cherries.  BOO.  But whatever.


For the ice cream, you’ll need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract

Whip the eggs and sugar together until fluffy.

Add the whipping cream, milk, and vanilla and whisk until combined.


Place the mixture into an ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s directions to make.

About a minute or two until it’s done, add in your cherries.


Enjoy!


I hope you’re proud, Gram!  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under dessert

2 responses to “Vanilla Cherry Ice Cream

  1. Tina Woods

    I know she would be proud of you

  2. Gram

    Hi Emily, I see you didn’t waste too much time with the mixer. It brought back a lot of memories and it looked great with the ice cream in it! I guess you ate all the ice cream in it! I don’t blame you! I knew it wouldn’t take you too long to try it out. HAPPY BAKING! LOVE, GRAM

Leave a Reply

