Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Or as my friends and I say … sooooooOOOOOUUUP!!! (with emphasis, people!)

I love soups! SOUP! Ah. So easy, so delicious. Nom.

I’m starting soup season out with a Chicken and Vegetable Soup.  I may have omitted the vegetable part out when telling Brad what we were having.  Woops 🙂 We all need more vegetables!  And yes. Green beans in my soup.  Boom. I don’t care. It was delicious. I took this from Cooking Light but left out a few things.  So I guess you could say … adapted?

You’ll need:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrot
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • a pinch of ground thyme
  • 3 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup uncooked orzo
  • 1 cup green beans
  • 1 cup shredded skinless, boneless chicken
  •  Parmesan cheese for topping

Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion, carrot, garlic, pepper and salt to pan and sauté 4 minutes. Add broth and bring to a boil. Add pasta and beans and cook 5 minutes. Stir in chicken and serve, sprinkle with cheese.

Helloooooooooooooooo soup/schevetter weather season! 🙂 Should I start a count down to SOUP SWAP?!


Gotta love a good instragram photo 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under dessert

Leave a Reply

