Herbed Spaetzle – French Fridays with Dorie

So before I get into the reason of this post (um, hi spaetzle) let me tell you WHY I am writing this post. See, there is this little (as in not little, it’s huge) cookbook called Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan. She is like the modern day Julia Child. I read a gazillion reviews on this book that were all positive and had to have this cookbook.  There is even a website and Facebook group dedicated to this cookbook.  Followers will cook the same recipe and post their review on a Friday, sans recipe to encourage others to buy the book. I must say it is a beautiful book. It is also really large and kind of heavy so it would work as a weapon or a way to attract attention if you drop it.  I’ve had this book for a while (thanks to an awesome friend Julia!) and have wanted to participate in French Fridays with Dorie (see Facebook and website) for quite some time.  Well now the time has come. The spaetzle dish is first up!

I’ve had spaetzle before.  I recall sitting at the table in my grandma’s kitchen watching her put a sticky dough in this box contraption and slide it back and forth over what looks like a cheese grater, but is not, over a pot of boiling water.  Little fluffs of dough would fall in to the water and cook up in just mere minutes.  She didn’t stop there. We’re not German.  We’re Slovenian. We eat things like cabbage and noodles.  OK, so I guess cab and nood can really be German, too. It’s a hunky thing.  Gram would like to substitute bagged egg noodles in the cab and nood with spaetzle. Oh yes.  Best. Thing. Ever. She took cabbage and noodles to a whole ‘nother level. But, I haven’t had spaetzle in for.ever. When I saw it was coming up on FFWD, I got excited on the inside and wiggled my toes. However, not having a spaetzle maker is a PITA. Let me explain…


Spaetzle is a mixture of flour, egg, milk.  In this instance, i added in some herbs and additional seasoning. Really, you can make spaetzle any time because those tend to be some kitchen staples.  However, it’s a very sticky dough. If you don’t have a spaetzle maker, I suggest getting one. It was SUCH A MESS without one. I tried pressing the dough into a cheese grater and that was just an epic fail. I had dough everywhere. I ended up spooning tiny logs of dough into the water. That may have been more of a pain in the buns than the cheese grater just because it took SO LONG, but it worked. I will say, I will make spaetzle again, but only with a spaetzle maker. It’s a $10 kitchen gadget and I’m a sucker for gadgets.


Following Dorie’s recipe, I sautéed mushrooms and onions in butter and olive oil and dumped the freshly cooked spaetzle into the pan. What a nice compliment to the herbed spaetzle!


This was total comfort food that brought back fond memories of me sitting at that table in Gram’s kitchen, sneaking little pillows of spaetzle behind her back while she was making them. Sorry, Gram, but it was too easy. 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under dinner, FFWD

10 responses to “Herbed Spaetzle – French Fridays with Dorie

  1. Gram says: “Leaqve it up to you to find something good!! You learned from the best!!!.. The spaetzle maker is yours….come and get it!!!!!”

  2. LOL 🙂 the things that we got away with when we were younger! Your spaetzle looks more like scrambled eggs because they are so yellow! Welcome to the group, I sure hope you enjoy it!

    • it does look like scrambled eggs! I didn’t even think of that. It was still super delicious I will say that! Thank you for the warm welcome – I am enjoying it already!

  3. Great looking spaetzle!!! Welcome to FFwD!!!

  4. Beverly

    We are so glad you are joining us! Yes, I very quickly figured out that you needed that gadget to make this recipe- now if I could just find one……
    Great job on your spaetzle!

  5. Beverly

    Your spaetzle looks just fine- welcome to the group- it’s a marvelous bunch to cook with & learn from!

  6. bevwinchester

    Welcome to FFWD- it’s a marvelous group to cook with & learn from!
    Your spaetzle looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

