Spent Grain Oven-Fried Chicken

Oh man. Spent grain. A whole new world has been introduced to me.


I’ve already made two beers (the coffee donut stout is still sitting in bottles) and FINALLY used some of the spent grain from the boil.


Brooklyn Brew Shop has been so ever kind to post recipes that you can use spent grain with, and let me tell you, they sound AMAZING. The first recipe I made with spent grain is the Spent Grain Oven-Fried Chicken.  There was one thing I should have done that I didn’t… I’ll get to that later.

You’ll need:

  • 6 chicken drumsticks, rinsed and patted dry
  • 1 cup Dried Spent Grain
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus salt and pepper for the wash
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon mustard

Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.
In a small bowl, mix together the spent grain, salt, curry powder, and a pinch of pepper.
In another small bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, mustard, and a pinch of salt and pepper.
Dip each drumstick in the milk and egg mixture, shaking off excess, then dip into spent grain mixture to cover. Transfer to a non-stick baking sheet.
Bake for 30-40 minutes, until cooked through.


So they were delicious. My mistake? What i SHOULD have done was put the drumsticks on a wire rack, not directly on the pan. The heat would have been able to circulate around the entire drumstick. They were still good, don’t get me wrong! But I’ve made this mistake more than once and you think I’d remember to use the wire rack. They were crunchy, the spent grain added a distinct flavor that you just can’t get anywhere else.  Make some beer, keep your grain, make some spent grain food! I made another spent grain recipe… that will be coming soon 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

