Scallops and Oysters, oh my!

The eastern seaboard is my home away from home.

Morning sunrise.

I’ll give you a few minutes to take that in and hate me. 🙂

Thinking about this place just brings back such amazing memories.  I would come here as a kid with my mom, dad and sister.  We’d stay at the Dunes Manor Hotel and have tea and crumpets at 4 p.m. while sitting on the rocking chairs on the beach-front deck. When it was time for my parents to have their adult beverages in the bar, Jes and I would enjoy our Shirley Temples and think we’re hot stuff.  It wasn’t a trip to the beach without a few rounds of mini golf and loads and loads and loads of crab legs that my sassy self would demand someone else crack them for me.  And THEY DID! Ha! What a life!  I thought myself as “classy” since I loved eating clams but I always scoffed at oysters and scallops.

Baby steps? This is where we transition to the present time.

I live here now.  While I still love crab legs (no one cracks them for me now), I love, love, love oysters and scallops.  I love anything that comes from the ocean, or now, my back yard.


Brad and I took a Sunday drive down to Martin Fish Co in West Ocean City where the boats dock and unload their catches of the day.  I must say this is going to be my spot for all things seafood.  Friendliest staff, clean and prices can’t be beat.

However, it would be my luck when we got there.  I wanted a whole fish but the guy in front of me bought $300 worth of whole fish and practically wiped them out! All that was left were croaker and spot.  Not what I wanted! So I opted for local scallops and oysters from Virginia.

Mmm oysters.  I shucked them myself too.  SUPER EASY.  Got an oyster shucking knife and worked it into the “hinge” side of the sucker and just twist.  Don’t forget to hold it with a thick dish towel or even an oven mitt.  These guys aren’t soft as a baby’s bottom.

On to the scallops.

Pat them dry, salt and pepper ’em, add them to pan with oil and sear! Simple. Make sure you use non-stick.  I didn’t and they don’t look as pretty as they should.  Once seared and they are no longer translucent, remove the scallops and toss in some white wine.  Reduce the wine and add in some garlic and butter.  Let this go for a minute or so and remove from heat.  Nestle the scallops over pasta, pour the sauce over top and garnish with some green onions.

The sea is mighty tasty and easy to cook! Don’t let it intimidate you like it did me.  It really is terribly simple.  I plan on whipping up a few whole fish soon and you will be the first to hear about it.

1 Comment

Filed under dinner

One response to “Scallops and Oysters, oh my!

  1. Debra

    YUM! and I LOVE your photo of the ocean. You are so talented. Come back Emily!

Leave a Reply

