Butternut Sage Pasta with Pine Nuts in Brown Butter

Tis the season of the gourd! I love all things pumpkin, butternut, sweater, crisp air, pumpkin soaps, boots, vampy nail polish colors, etc.  This season is just my absolute favorite.  I’m also a fan of leggings as pants. I know, some people hate it, but sometimes I just want to toss on some leggings, a tunic sweater and my boots.  And a puffer vest from the Gap.  Maybe a hat, maybe a scarf.  But come on! How can you hate that? OK.  Back to the pasta.

I saw this recipe on thekitchn.com and ooohed and ahhhed when I came across it.  I always have a few butternut squashes on hand (because I can’t help myself when I visit Trader Joe’s in the fall – SO CHEAP) and I love everything else that was involved.  After reading the recipe over a few times, I put my own spin on it.  Instead of using oil, we’re going to use brown butter.  Why not amp up that flavor just a smidge?

It’s a few steps but totally worth it. I feel like Ina when I say that …

Roasted butternut squash. DELICIOUS.

Roasted butternut squash. DELICIOUS.

Butternut Sage Pasta with Pine Nuts in Brown Butter
adapted from thekitchn.com

  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1 small sweet onion, peeled and diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3-4 tablespoons of butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup fresh sage leaves
  • 1 pound farfalle pasta
  • 3/4 cup pine nuts, toasted
  • 4 ounces high quality Parmesan, shredded or shaved (about a cup total)

Heat the oven to 375°. Peel, cut in half, scoop out the seeds and strings and cut the squash into 1-inch cubes. Toss with the onion, garlic, a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper. Mince about half of the fresh sage leaves and also toss with the squash.

Spread the squash mixture in a thin layer on a large baking sheet and roast for about 40 minutes or until the squash is soft.

Bring water to a boil and cook the farfalle until al dente. Drain and set aside. As the squash finishes roasting, start to brown your butter in a large saute pan. (We will talk about brown butter and ghee soon). Drop in the rest of the sage leaves and fry for about a minute, or until they begin to just shrivel up.

Remove with a slotted spoon and salt lightly. Crush with the back of a spoon.

Add the pasta to the pan, along with the roasted squash mixture. Crumble in the sage. Cook, stirring frequently, for five minutes or until the pasta is heated through and getting crispy on some of the edges. Add the pine nuts and cook for another minute. Stir in the cheese and serve. (This is why you use a large saute pan 🙂 )  If you feel like doing it, toast your pine nuts before as well.  Yuuummmmm.

DSC_0025
Doesn’t this look amazing and don’t you want to just toss your face in it?  OK.  I need to calm down.  Happy fall cooking!

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

