Buffalo Chicken Pasta

If you couldn’t tell, I love all things buffalo, chicken, and cheese.  Not always together, but definitely together as well. I think I have a serious problem with cheese. But I’m not going to fully admit it.  Deny, deny, deny!

I know I can always rely on How Sweet It Is to give me something homemade, delicious, and cheesy.  That is where I got this recipe from.  Her recipe is for baked buffalo chicken pasta.  I wasn’t feeling very bake-y this day and skipped that entire step.

You’ll need:

  • 1 pound pasta
  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and cut into chunks
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 4 ounces freshly grated monterey jack cheese
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/3 cup buffalo wing sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • blue cheese for topping

While pasta is cooking, heat a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the butter, and once it’s melted and bubbly add the flour. Whisk together to create a roux and cook for 1-2 minutes until mixture gets a bit golden in color. Add milk, stir and turn down heat to low. Continue stirring until milk thickens. Add in grated cheeses and continue to stir until mixture is smooth.  Taste and season with salt and pepper if needed.

Toss buffalo wing sauce with the chicken.  Try not to eat it.

Pour cheese sauce over pasta and mix thoroughly until everything is coated.  Toss in chicken and sprinkle with blue cheese.

Enjoy.


Ugh gosh this is SO GOOD. Wash it down with a delicious beer.  While sitting in front of a TV with many football games on.  Or reruns of The Hills.  Your choice.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a comment